Musical talent is dispersed across Los Angeles like city lights and palm trees. Though it is the rare occasion we cross paths with something or someone, strikingly different, that revives sound and makes it unique and fresh all over again.

IMG_20150910_213822For fans of hip-hop who appreciate hype beats and have a passion for sick lyricism, Fat Dom carries both traits within his sound. Definitely a master of street bangers and conscious music.

Music has always been an open book into emotions of artists. It is a way for the listener to find their own emotions through the artist and connect. Fat Dom surely adheres to hip-hop’s picturesque storytelling to draw his listeners closer.

I was granted the opportunity to receive Dom’s personal perspective on his craft and am excited to share both his voice and his music, below.


Rooted Unit: What is the most interesting piece of inspiration you use to create your art?

Fat Dom: “My most interesting inspiration for my music is Life. My life is like a movie. I can’t be in the studio all day, I have to go out and experience life go through some real life shit and that’s where my inspiration and creativity comes from. The fact that I’m struggling, and people sleep on my music makes it hard for me to sleep at night, and that pushes me to get up and go make some hits.”

Rooted Unit: What message are you seeking to share through music?

Fat Dom: “My message in my music is to always be aware of what’s really going on out here but chase your dreams. We all have a voice so use it to your best ability. I still need to work on my music and make it better so I can reach out to the Kids because the youth is the future. My music right now is street conscious so the people who are mainly listening are adults because they understand and relate to the struggle.”

IMG_20151226_153115

Rooted Unit: Most artists have a habit of going back to their work once it is finished; Which elements must be delivered within your work for you to consider it complete?

Fat Dom: “Timeless Lyrics has to be delivered. You have to hear the hunger in my voice. I want you to feel my passion so once i get that gut feeling like yeah i went hard. I know I got another classic.”

Rooted Unit: Do you have any projects available for readers to listen or download?

Fat Dom: “Right Now I only Have My Gramercy Mixtape available for Download on Datpiff.com I’ve been releasing records on Soundcloud for my supporters who really listen and check for my new music. I appreciate their appreciation.”

Rooted Unit: Is there anything we can look forward to in the future from Fat Dom?

Fat Dom: “I’m currently working on my new CD. I decided to call my CD ‘At War With Myself’ because I’m battling myself everyday. I use to point the finger and blame them for the things going on in my life but when you mature you begin to own up to decisions you made that affected the outcome your life. The only person that can stop you from being great is yourself. Youll never know your limits unless you push yourself. You can never get to know someone else until you know yourself. You cant love or take care of others until you love or take care of yourself. So I’m at War Myself. Once I win that battle I can conquer anything.”


 

737018_461109257278457_1200367777_o.jpg

 

Fat Dom can be found performing at many local shows around Los Angeles; catch up with him on social media to stay up to date!

Follow him on Instagram and Twitter

Leave a comment